How often do you send work out for consideration?


Daily? Weekly? Monthly? Every so often? How is that working for you?

Once upon a time, I sent new work out every day. A poem, flash fiction, perhaps an article or two. When work was returned to me (i.e., declined), then I would usually revisit it, see if it needed editing and/or revision, then send it out again. Sometimes, I would back-burner it when I was in-the-throes of another poem, short story, or article. In this way, the work – and the energy of the process – kept moving.

More recently, as many of you know, I’ve been revising one of my novels and haven’t been submitting other work on a daily – or even a weekly – basis. I have, however, been updating my websites’ copy, composing newsletters, interviewing authors and artists, and penning an occasional new poem (or revising old ones) or short story. I’ve also been going through old folders for work I had back-burnered to determine what’s next in queue.

It’s important to be honest with ourselves about our efforts, right? This is the way we move forward with our writing. This is the way we hone our craft and increase our opportunities for publication.

So, what are you writing now? What are you sending out? Where are you getting published? I would love to hear from you!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

