Are you a nice person?


One of my long-term friends and mentors said something very interesting to me yesterday. . .”You’re a nice person, and your niceness shows in your fiction. Put your characters in danger. . .Be mean to them.”

It made me pause. Seriously. He has a point. It’s nice to be nice, though, isn’t it? “Until it’s time NOT to be nice!” (In the immortal words of Patrick Swayze’s character in Roadhouse.)

That said, I hope he will be pleased when he reads my new novel, as there are quite a few not-so-nice scenes in there. Some may even freak some people out.

So, I ask you again, are you a nice person? Does your niceness seep through the pores of your work? I challenge you to up your ante. I, too, am taking that challenge!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

